Grey Goose Season 5 Preview

10 September 2017 16:30:00 Posted By Felix

The new Shootpool Blackball Singles League Season 5 in Grey Goose kicks off next weekend with the top flight fixtures getting underway from 3pm.

Seven of the top eight finishers last season return in the league of ten, joined by two league newcomers and one player moving divisions after replacing a dropout after the fixtures had been compiled.

David Feore, the first of three ever-presents returning to the league, will be looking to successfully defend his title that he won for the first time last season following three second placed finishes in the first three seasons of the SPBL.

Adam Jackow is the second ever present player back for their fifth season in this league, with each Grey Goose campaign finishing with a Top 5 place, his best being third in Season 2.

Peter Ward has also played all four prior SPBL season's, this will be his fourth in Grey Goose after a single season in Smirnoff in Season 2 where he finished as the title winner.

The Season 3 champion, Darryl Clarke, is back for his fourth season having missed just the inaugural season and like Adam Jackow, has never finished outside the Top 5.

Daniel Wilkins is also back for his fourth season with a third place in Season 1 his best of the previous campaigns.

James Connor is the last player who will be embarking on his fourth SPBL league campaign, finishing eighth last season in his debut Grey Goose campaign having earned promotion from Smirnoff in Season 3.

And the last of the returning players is Shelley McDermott, back for his second season having finished as runner-up last season, just two points behind the champion David Feore, winning an incredible eleven of his twelve matches with just a single 5-4 loss to Max Burgess as the blemish on his record.

Two new players join the league this season in Colin Rogan and Jamie Whittaker.

And the last player in the division is Richard Ilsley who replaced the promoted Jack Mason who dropped out about a week after the fixtures were set.

Looking ahead to the opening day's fixtures, defending champion David Feore faces Daniel Wilkins with Feore having won all three of their prior Shootpool Blackball Singles League meetings. Season 3 champion Darryl Clarke will start this season against league newcomer Jamie Whittaker whilst the other league newcomer, Colin Rogan, plays Peter Ward. Shelley McDermott faces Richard Ilsley with the two having shared the two single frame matches they've previously played, both of which were in the 2016 - 2017 AIPL Knock Out Cup Semi-Final. And the last match of the afternoon sees James Connor play Adam Jackow.

Looking further into the season, the Top 2 from last season will clash early as Week 2 sees David Feore play Shelley McDermott.

And Feore follows that match with one against former champion Darryl Clarke in Week 3.

Two SP Blacks teammates will clash in Week 4 as Adam Jackow and Peter Ward clash, whilst the two Shootpool Snipers teammates Richard Ilsley and James Connor have to wait until Week 7 on 10th December to face one another.

This week's fixtures in full, to be played Sunday 17th September at 3pm:

James Connor vs Adam Jackow (preview)

Peter Ward vs Colin Rogan (preview)

Daniel Wilkins vs David Feore (preview)

Shelley McDermott vs Richard Ilsley (preview)

Darryl Clarke vs Jamie Whittaker (preview)

Good luck to all players in the league this season.