The AIPL started in 1978 as the R.T. Major Pool League with Mr Len Disbury as the league chairman and 14 teams competing in a Premier and the Knock Out Cup, both which were won won by the Aylesbury Ex-Service-men's 'A'. The player Singles and Doubles competitions were also held.

The first season was successful and the AIPL grew in size over the years with teams entered not just from Aylesbury but from the surrounding villages too. At the peak of its popularity the AIPL ran 4 league divisions, 2 cup competitions and 4 player competitions.

The Premier has at times been dominated by one or two teams. John Kennedy A won the title for 4 consecutive seasons between 1999 and 2002, a feat matched by Shoot Vetz who won it between 2013 and 2016.

The past 2016 - 2017 season featured three divisions (Premier, Division 1 and Division 2) alongside the usual two team cup knockout competitions - 2016 - 2017 and Plate Cup - and two player competitions - Singles and Doubles.