NZB Win Cup, Bullets Win Plate

09 June 2022 15:45:00 Posted By Luton
Last Updated: 09 June 2022 16:27:00

New Zealand "B" are the Knock Out Cup champions for the fifth time in just eight seasons, as they got the better of The Arigators, winning 5-2 on the night. The hopes of a New Zealand cup double were dashed though, as SP Bullets won 5-3 against New Zealand 'A' to claim the Plate Cup, adding to the trophy they claimed in 2018 - 2019.

New Zealand "B" 5-2 The Arigators

The Arigators took a 1-0 lead early on in this game as Graham Spencer held his nerve to pot a black down the rail to give his side the early advantage, but that advantage was soon gone after Paul Kanchanlall levelled the scores with a lovely reverse dish. Julian Lefevre and Jamie Whittaker then both won their frames for New Zealand "B" to extend the lead to 3-1. Special mention to Julian Lefevre too, as the only player to record 6 frame wins in this years edition of the Knock Out Cup. Steve Smith took out a nice clearance to get the score back to 3-2, but two wins in two frames for Keith Jones made sure of the victory for New Zealand "B", who can now add the Knock Out Cup to the Premier title and the Doubles they have already clinched this season.

SP Bullets 5-3 New Zealand 'A'

SP Bullets captain Laura Hunter got her side off to the best possible start, winning the first frame of the night for a 1-0 lead. Dennis Walton then levelled the scores at 1-1, before New Zealand 'A' captain Brian Lopez won to put his side ahead for the first time in the match at 2-1. A win for SP Bullets' Wayne Thorne then put the scores level at 2-2, only for Mark Frost to win to give New Zealand 'A' a 3-2 lead. Sonnie O'Sullivan then won to leave the sides level after six frames. In the captains picks final three, the advantage went to SP Bullets when Wayne won his second on the night for a 4-3 lead, and the match was wrapped up in style when Sonnie won a great frame, for his second of the night, the 5-3 win, and the title for SP Bullets.

Latest News

2021-2022 ROLL OF HONOUR

All Winners of AIPL Competitions.

Posted: 09 June 2022 16:30

NZB Win Cup, Bullets Win Plate

Review of both cup finals.

Posted: 09 June 2022 15:45

Washington Weavers Claim Div 2 Title

Review of Week 21 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 04 June 2022 13:00

Div 2 Title Race Down To Final Day

Review of Week 20 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 26 May 2022 12:30

Weavers Go Top Of Div 2

Review of Week 19 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 22 May 2022 14:45

New Zealand "B" Claim Premier Title

Review of Week 18 in AIPL Premier.

Posted: 16 May 2022 15:00

The Vic Club Claim Div 1 Title

Review of Week 18 in AIPL Division 1.

Posted: 16 May 2022 13:45

Weavers Beat Maid To Close The Gap

Review of Week 18 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 15 May 2022 18:00

Sharks End NZB Unbeaten Season

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Premier.

Posted: 10 May 2022 10:30

Vic Close In On Title

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Division 1.

Posted: 10 May 2022 09:45

Maid and Weavers Both Win in Div 2

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 06 May 2022 20:00

Unbeaten Newy March On

Review of Week 16 in AIPL Premier.

Posted: 03 May 2022 18:30