Big Twanks and Shoot To Thrill Through to Shield Final

24 August 2023 11:15:00 Posted By Luton
Last Updated: 24 August 2023 19:41:00

Shoot To Thrill 6-5 The Bloody Bastards

(Shoot To Thrill win 12-10 on aggregate)

After the 6-5 match in the first leg, Shoot To Thrill and The Bloody Bastards had another close-fought match in the second leg, with the match going the full 22 frames. The first half saw both teams take the lead on the night, with Grant Mullender, Nigel Crook and Howard Gillett all winning for The Bloody Bastards, and Owen Garland, Stephen Coultas and Paul Seastram winning in return for the hosts, but it ended up all square at 3-3 after the first set of frames, so 9-8 to Shoot To Thrill overall. A second win for Grant put The Bloody Bastards back ahead, only for Paul's second win to level things up again. Nigel then won his second of the night as well to level the overall tie up at 10-10. Stephen then potted a great black to win his second of the evening and also put Shoot To Thrill one frame from the final, with The Bloody Bastards knowing they would need to win the scotch doubles to take the match to a tie-breaker. But the team of Jeremy Collins and John Massingham kept their cool and won the all-important final frame to secure a 6-5 win for Shoot To Thrill, and the 12-10 on aggregate.

SP3 2-6 The Big Twanks

(The Big Twanks win 12-7 on aggregate)

The Big Twanks also had a narrow 6-5 lead after the first leg of the other semi final too, but made slightly easier work of their second leg, winning 6-2 for the 12-7 aggregate victory. Nathan Brooks did get SP3 off to the perfect start, but The Big Twanks answered back by winning the next five frames without reply, thanks to wins for James Todd, Ben Bantham, Arron Flanagan, Ali Munro and captain Peter Mizon. Nathan then won his second for a good night personally, but his team were only one frame away from defeat, which is exactly what happened when Frank Almeida won his frame to secure a place in the final for The Big Twanks


Two time Shield champions The Big Twanks will be looking for a third title in this competition, but will take on Shoot To Thrill in next week's final, who will be hungry for their first cup success as a team. The match will be played at Shoot Pool & Snooker, and will be the first time the two sides have met. The Big Twanks captain Peter Mizon, and Shoot To Thrill's Paul Seastram, both take perfect 5-0 win records into the final, while Shoot To Thrill's John Massingham leads the way on the individual stats, with a 6-1 record to date.

Latest News

Roths 11-0 The Highlight Of Summer Week 4

Review of Week 4 in the Summer League.

Posted: 06 June 2024 22:30

Summer Groups Starting To Take Shape After Week 3

Review of Week 3 in the Summer League.

Posted: 31 May 2024 08:30

Week 2 Of Summer League Sees Two 11-0s At Shoot

Review of Week 2 in the Summer League.

Posted: 23 May 2024 08:30

Summer League 2024 Begins!

Review of Week 1 in the Summer League.

Posted: 16 May 2024 11:45

2023-2024 ROLL OF HONOUR

All Winners of AIPL Competitions.

Posted: 15 May 2024 22:45

Premier Season Ends With 7-5's Galore

Final Review of Week 18 and Premier Season.

Posted: 29 March 2024 21:00

Shootpool Blues Pip The Roths To Division 1 Title

Final Review of Week 18 and Division 1 Season.

Posted: 29 March 2024 16:00

The C Team Div 2 Champs After 3-Way Battle

Final Review of Week 18 and Division 2 Season.

Posted: 29 March 2024 14:45

SP Blacks Claim Premier Title

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Premier.

Posted: 27 March 2024 17:45

Blues and Roths Dead Level With A Game To Go

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Division 1.

Posted: 27 March 2024 01:00

C Team On Top After Misfits Beaten

Review of Week 17 in AIPL Division 2.

Posted: 26 March 2024 00:00

SP Blacks Open Up 16pt Gap After Game In Hand

Review of Week 16 in AIPL Premier.

Posted: 17 March 2024 19:15